“I feel kind of sad for her”

Dropped the ball on this one

Dropped the ball on this one

Michelle Wie qualified for the Ricoh Women’s British Open this weekend at Sunningdale, but instead of flying across the pond for the LPGA’s final major of the season, she accepted a sponsor’s exemption to play at the Legends Reno-Tahoe Open, her eighth PGA Tour event.  And the decision has drawn the ire of some fairly prominent women professionals:

Annika Sorenstam: “I really don’t know why Michelle continues to do this. We have a major this week and, if you can’t qualify for a major, I don’t see any reason why you should play with the men.”

Helen Alfredsson: “I feel kind of sad for her.  I think she’s a very good person. I feel sad for the guidance that she seems to not have in the right direction.  She was so good a couple of years ago when she finished second a few times.  I’m sure if you put yourself enough times in that position then you can deal with it, and I think it’s how you become better. That’s how you learn to win.”

Paula Creamer: “I don’t know why you’d want to pass up playing in a major, especially the British Open here at Sunningdale.  But she goes a different path and that’s not the path way that I’ve taken.”

1 Comment

Filed under Annika Sorenstam, Helen Alfredsson, Michelle Wie, Paula Creamer

One response to ““I feel kind of sad for her”

  1. Like your blog, but what’s your source for the claim that Wie qualified for the WBO?

Leave a Reply

